Fiona is the editor of Plantpuree, a website that celebrates vegan living. With over 20 years in diet & fitness, fashion, and beauty, she brings a wealth of knowledge and a unique perspective to her work and writing on veganism.
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes
Bran Buds is a cereal made by Kellogg’s and sold in Canada and the USA. It contains a whopping 43% of fiber per 100 grams, making it one of the highest fiber breakfast cereals available. Here’s the lowdown on whether Bran Buds are Vegan.
Table of Contents
Are Bran Buds Vegan?
No, Bran Buds are not vegan because they contain vitamin D3, derived from sheep. Some vegans may choose to eat foods with a trace of vitamin D3, but it’s generally not considered part of a vegan lifestyle. If you’re looking for an alternative cereal that is truly vegan-friendly, try Post Wheat and Bran Shredded Wheat or Kashi Whole Wheat Biscuits.
Bran Buds Ingredients
Bran Buds Calories per 45g serving – 110kcal
|MAIN INGREDIENTS||VITAMINS AND MINERALS|
|Niacinimide, Reduced Iron, Vitamin B6, |
Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (Thiamin)
Folic Acid, Vitamin D3, Vitamin B12
Frequently Asked Questions
Bran Buds are an excellent source of fiber and contain a mixture of insoluble and soluble fiber. Wheat bran and psyllium husk are two of the main ingredients in this cereal. According to Kellogs one serving provides 63% of recommended daily intake.
The key difference between All Bran and All Bran Buds is the inclusion of psyllium husk in Bran Buds Cereal and the difference it makes to the fiber content of the cereals. This means that while All Bran contains a total of 27g per 100g of fiber, All Bran Buds contains 43g per 100g.
Is Jordans Country Crunch Strawberry Vegan?
Are Strawberry Cheerios Vegan?