Fiona is the editor of Plantpuree. With over two decades of experience in the wellness and fashion sectors, plus a degree in philosophy, she brings a unique perspective to her editorial role at Plantpuree. Whether it’s discussing ethical issues around veganism or pushing for eco-friendly fashion choices, her thoughtful and analytical approach ensures that readers are empowered with accessible, reliable information and knowledge they can trust. She delights in unearthing exciting facts and figures that surprise even the most seasoned experts!
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes
Golden Nuggets is a sweet maize cereal from Nestle that was first introduced to the UK in the 1970s. At a quick glance, Golden Nuggets’ ingredients appear vegan. Cereal grains are from plants – right? So what’s the problem? Are Golden Nuggets vegan or not? Let’s take a closer look at this popular cereal to find out.
Disclosure: Some of the links below are affiliated; we may earn a small commission if you click through and make a purchase. We only ever add brands & products we truly believe in. Thank you for supporting the brands who are making the world a better place!
Table of Contents
Are Golden Nuggets Vegan?
NO, Golden Nuggets are not vegan. This is because they include honey within their ingredients which is produced by bees, making it non-vegan. If you are a vegan and looking for alternatives, check out Envirokidz Peanut Butter Panda Puffs or Asda Multigrain Hoops which are both confirmed to be vegan-friendly cereal options.
Golden Nuggets Ingredients
Golden Nuggets Calories per 30g Serving: 113kcal (1)
|Whole Grain Wheat (35.3%),
Wheat Flour (26.5%),
Whole Grain Maize Flour,
Invert Sugar Syrup,
Vitamin B3, B5, B9, B6, B2
Non-Vegan Ingredients In Golden Nuggets
There is one non-vegan ingredient in Golden Nuggets which is honey. Vegans often overlook honey as bees produce it. Commercial beekeeping practices can harm the health of bees. According to the Vegan Society, conventional beekeepers aim to harvest the maximum amount of honey. When farmers remove honey from a hive, they replace it with a sugar substitute which is worse for the bees’ health since it lacks essential micro-nutrients of honey. (2)
Are Golden Nuggets Healthy?
The simple answer is NO. Although, Golden Nuggets is fortified with a number of vitamins and minerals it is high in sugar and low in fibre.
Golden Nuggets contains 6.7 g of sugar per serving which is considered too high by the USDA. (3) Ideally, you should choose a cereal with under 5 grams of sugar per serving and at least 3 grams of fibre per serving. (4) In addition, The NHS and FDA recommend at least 30g of fibre a day, and a serving of Golden Nuggets provides just 1.6g – a mere 5.3% of the recommended daily amount. (5,6)
Frequently Asked Questions
No, Golden Nuggets are not gluten free as they contain wheat. For a vegan, gluten-free alternative try Nature’s Path Gorilla Munch Corn Puffs.
No, Golden Crisp is not vegan as it includes Vitamin D3 within its ingredients. (7) For a vegan puffed wheat cereal alternative choose Arrowhead Mills Puffed Wheat Cereal.