Fiona is the editor of Plantpuree, a website that celebrates vegan living. With over 20 years in diet & fitness, fashion, and beauty, she brings a wealth of knowledge and a unique perspective to her work and writing on veganism.
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes
Oatibix flakes are a variety of breakfast cereal flakes made from oats. They’re high in beta-glucan soluble fiber, low in sugar, and include additional vitamins. However, a common problem with vitamin-fortified cereals is that they often contain traces of animal derivatives. This begs the question – are Oatibix flakes vegan? Keep reading to get the lowdown…
Table of Contents
Are Oatibix Flakes Vegan?
The answer is YES -Oatibix Flakes are vegan. Weetabix, the company that produces Oatibix has confirmed that none of its products contain animal derivatives or by-products. While Oatibix may include vitamin fortification, these vitamins are either synthetic or derived from plant sources.
|MAIN INGREDIENTS||VITAMINS & MINERALS|
|Wholegrain Oats (93%),|
Malted Barley Extract,
|Niacin, Iron, Pantothenic Acid (B5),|
Thiamin (B1), Riboflavin (B2),
Vitamin B6, Folic Acid, Vitamin B12
Oatibix Calories Per 30g Serving – 122kcal
|TYPICAL VALUES||PER 100g||PER 30g|
Of which sugars
|Pantothenic Acid (B5)||5.1mg||1.5mg|
Frequently Asked Questions
It depends on the brand and ingredients. Wheat flakes may contain vitamin fortification, and these vitamins could potentially be derived from animal sources. It’s best to check with the manufacturer or look for a specifically labeled vegan option such as Whole Food Earth Toasted Wheat Flakes.
The beta-glucan soluble fiber in Oatibix has been linked to a wide range of potential health benefits, including lowering cholesterol levels, decreasing inflammation, improving blood sugar management, and more. This type of fiber has been extensively studied for its many potential applications. (1)
Are Cheerios Oat Crunch Vegan?