Fiona is the editor of Plantpuree. With over two decades of experience in the wellness and fashion sectors, plus a degree in philosophy, she brings a unique perspective to her editorial role at Plantpuree. Whether it’s discussing ethical issues around veganism or pushing for eco-friendly fashion choices, her thoughtful and analytical approach ensures that readers are empowered with accessible, reliable information and knowledge they can trust. She delights in unearthing exciting facts and figures that surprise even the most seasoned experts!
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes
Kellogg’s Rice Bubbles and Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are the same puffed rice cereal, right? Just different names for different parts of the world, right? Yes, well….kind of! It turns out that the ingredients differ and, depending on where you are in the world, Kellogg’s legendary crispy rice cereal may or may not be considered vegan! In this post, we’ll dive into the ingredients to establish whether or not Rice Bubbles are vegan.
Disclosure: Some of the links below are affiliated; we may earn a small commission if you click through and make a purchase. We only ever add brands & products we truly believe in. Thank you for supporting the brands who are making the world a better place!
Table of Contents
Are Rice Bubbles Vegan?
The answer is YES ! Kellogg’s Rice Bubbles does not contain any animal derivatives or ingredients and is vegan.
What are Rice Bubbles?
Rice Bubbles is a cereal made from puffed rice and sugar. It is typically served with milk and is sold in Australia and New Zealand.
Outside of Australia and New Zealand, Kellogg’s markets the cereal as Rice Krispies. The branding and packaging are almost identical, but the ingredients and nutritional levels differ.
Are Rice Bubbles Healthy?
The answer is NO according to Scientific American. (1) Although, Rice Bubbles is low in fat and sugar, it offers little in the way of fibre. Ideally, you should choose a cereal with under 5 grams of sugar per serving and at least 3 grams of fibre per serving. (2) The NHS and FDA also recommend at least 30g of fibre a day, and a serving of Golden Nuggets provides just 1.6g – a mere 5.3% of the recommended daily amount. (3,4)
Kellogg’s Rice Bubbles Ingredients
Kellogs, the manufacturer of Rice Bubbles currently list their main ingredients as:
|Whole white rice (91%), |
Barley malt extract,
Rice Bubbles Nutrition
Rice Bubbles Calories Per 35g Serving – 136(kcal) (5)
|Type||Per 35g Serving||Per 100g Serving|
|Energy||136 (kcal)||392 (kcal)|
of which sugar
|Vitamins & Minerals|
|Riboflavin (Vit B2)||0.42mg||1.21mg|
|Niacin (Vit B3)||2.5mg||7.1mg|
Frequently Asked Questions
No, Rice Bubbles contain gluten. However, there is now a gluten-free version endorsed by Coeliac Australia – Kellogg’s Gluten-Free Rice Bubbles.
Unfortunately, the traditional Rice Puffs cereal is not vegan as it contains Vitamin D3 derived from animal sources. For a vegan option choose Nature’s Path Organic Rice Puffs.