Are Strawberry Cheerios Vegan? (The Answer Is No!)

Estimated reading time: 3 minutes

Strawberry Cheerios is a deliciously sweet cereal that kids and adults love. At first glance, the ingredients in Strawberry Cheerios appear to be vegan. Oats are a plant and strawberry is fruit – right? So what’s the problem? Are Strawberry Cheerios vegan or not? Let’s take a closer look at this popular cereal to find out.

Disclosure: Some of the links below are affiliated; we may earn a small commission if you click through and make a purchase. We only ever add brands & products we truly believe in. Thank you for supporting the brands who are making the world a better place!

Are Strawberry Cheerios Vegan?

Unfortunately, Strawberry Cheerios are not vegan. This is because they include animal-derived components such as lanolin and bone char within their ingredients. For vegan alternatives that include strawberries try Made Good Strawberry Granola or Nature’s Bakery Strawberry Oatmeal Crumble.

Strawberry Cheerios Ingredients

Strawberry Cheerio Calories per 39g Serving: 140kcal (1)

Whole grain oats
Whole grain corn
Corn starch
Whole Grain Rice
Corn bran
Dried Strawberries
Whole grain sorghum
Whole grain millet
Corn syrup
Trisodium phosphate
Vitamin E (mixed tocopherols) added to preserve freshness.
 Calcium carbonate, vitamin C (sodium ascorbate),
iron and zinc, A B vitamin(niacinamide),
vitamin B6 (pyridoxine hydrochloride),
vitamin B1 (thiamin mononitrate),
vitamin A (palmitate), vitamin B2 (riboflavin),
A B vitamin (folic acid), vitamin B12, vitamin D3.

Non-Vegan Ingredients In Strawberry Cheerios

There are two non-vegan ingredients in Strawberry Cheerios: Vitamin D and refined sugar.

Vitamin D3

Vitamin D3 is important for bone health. It can be found in fortified foods or supplements, and it can also be produced by the body when exposed to sunlight. Vitamin D is commercially made from lanolin. Lanolin is a waxy substance derived from sheep’s wool. Given vitamin D is derived from an animal source, this means that breakfast cereals fortified with this are not vegan, however, they are suitable for vegetarians. (2)


The problem with sugar is not the actual ingredient itself, but the way it is processed. Sugar cane is processed using bone char, which is made from animal bones that are heated at high temperatures. Bone char is used to filter and whiten sugar. Even though sugar doesn’t have any bone fragments in it, the number of animals used to produce bone char is a big issue. (3)

Frequently Asked Questions

Are Strawberry Cheerios Gluten Free?

The Canadian Celiac Association recommends those with gluten sensitivities avoid Cheerios, even though General Mills labels the cereal as gluten-free. The danger of cross-contamination during processing is too high. (4)

Are Strawberry Cheerios Healthy?  

Cheerios are low in fat and calories, as well as vitamins and minerals. However, they do have high sugar levels in some varieties. Nutritional experts recommend the Multigrain option, which contains more protein. (5)

Are Morrisons Bran Flakes Vegan?

Is Baby Cereal Vegan?

Are Oatibix Flakes Vegan?

Are Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Multigrain Shapes Vegan?