Is Ready Brek Vegan And A Healthy Option?

Ready Brek flakes is an oatmeal cereal made with wholegrain oats. It is high in beta-glucan soluble fiber, low in sugar, and includes additional vitamins. However, a common problem with vitamin-fortified cereals is that they often contain traces of animal derivatives. This begs the question – is Ready Brek vegan? And is it a healthy breakfast option? Keep reading to get the lowdown…

Disclosure: Some of the links below are affiliated; we may earn a small commission if you click through and make a purchase. We only ever add brands & products we truly believe in. Thank you for supporting the brands who are making the world a better place!

Is Ready Brek Vegan? 

The answer is YES -Ready Brek is vegan. Weetabix, the company that produces Ready Brek has confirmed that none of its products contain animal derivatives or by-products. While Ready Brek includes vitamin fortification, these vitamins are synthetic or derived from plant sources. However, Weetabix do point out that there is a small risk of cross contamination from milk during manufacturing. (1)

Is Ready Brek Healthy?

YES, as an oatmeal cereal and form of porridge, Ready Brek is a healthy vegan cereal and meets the nutrition requirements suggested by many health organisations, including the NHS, British Heart Foundation and FDA. (2,3)

According, to the USDA, Ready Brek meets the cereal sugar limits they suggest for children and adults. (4)

In addition, the oat bran in Ready Brek is a good source of soluble fiber. Soluble fiber may help you control your blood sugar levels. A study found that eating 6 grams of soluble fiber per day may help lower your cholesterol and triglyceride levels. It may also limit the amount of energy you absorb from your food, making it easier to maintain a healthy weight. (5,6)

The British Heart Foundation also include oats as their top suggestion for a heart-healthy breakfast because of the effect of beta-glucan on lowering cholesterol. (7)

Finally, The NHS and FDA recommend at least 30g of fibre a day, and a 30g serving of Ready Brek provides 2.4g – 8% of the recommended daily amount, while a 45g serving provides 3.5g – 11.9%. (8,9)

Is Ready Brek Gluten Free?

The answer is No. Ready Brek is not gluten free and should not be consumed by Coeliacs. According to Weetabix, none of their products are gluten free and where products are wheat free they run the risk of cross contamination across production lines. (10)

Ready Brek Ingredients

Ready Brek Original Calories per 30g Serving: 112kcal

Wholegrain Rolled Oats (60%)
Wholegrain Oat Flour (38%)
Riboflavin (B2)
Vitamin B6
Thiamin (B1)
Folic Acid
Vitamin D (vegan)
Vitamin B12

Ready Brek Nutrition

NutritionPer 100gPer 30g Serving
Energy 374kcal 112kcal
Of which sugars

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Chocolate Ready Brek Vegan?

No, Chocolate Ready Brek is not vegan as it contains milk whey. (11) If you are craving a vegan chocolate cereal try Misfits Chocolate Protein Cereal or Nature Path’s Choco Chimp Cereal.

Is Ready Brek Dairy Free?

No. Weetabix the company behind Ready Brek state that while it does not contain lactose within the listed ingredients, they are made in a factory where milk is present and therefore there may be traces of dairy.

7 Types of Vegans and 13 Types of Vegan Diets

Are Oat Crunch Cheerios Vegan?

Is Shredded Wheat Cereal Vegan?

Is Veganism a Cult? (No, Find Out Why)



(2) Butt, M.S., Tahir-Nadeem, M., Khan, M.K.I. et al. Oat: unique among the cereals. Eur J Nutr 47, 68–79 (2008).




(6) Kristensen, M., Bügel, S. A diet rich in oat bran improves blood lipids and hemostatic factors, and reduces apparent energy digestibility in young healthy volunteers. Eur J Clin Nutr 65, 1053–1058 (2011).