Fiona is the editor of Plantpuree, a website that celebrates vegan living. With over 20 years in diet & fitness, fashion, and beauty, she brings a wealth of knowledge and a unique perspective to her work and writing on veganism.
Estimated reading time: 2 minutes
Sultana Bran is a popular cereal containing wheat flakes and raisins and has been associated with high fiber and health benefits for a long time. But is it a healthy vegan-friendly cereal? Keep reading to find out…
Table of Contents
Is Sultana Bran Vegan?
The answer is no, Sultana Bran is not vegan. This is because it contains vitamin D, which is derived from animals. While some vegans may choose to consume foods containing vitamin D, it is not considered a vegan-friendly product. For a genuinely vegan alternative choose Kashi Go Breakfast Cereal or Kellogg’s Raisin Wheats.
Sultana Bran Ingredients
|MAIN INGREDIENTS||VITAMINS AND MINERALS|
Wheat Bran (13%)
Barley Malt Flavouring
|Niacin, Iron,Vitamin B6, |
Vitamin B2 (Riboflavin), Vitamin B1 (Thiamin)
Folic Acid, Vitamin D, Vitamin B12
Sultana Bran Nutrition
Sultana Bran Calories per 40g Serving – 140kcal
|Typical Values||Per 100g||Per 40g Serving|
Of which saturates
Of which sugars
|Folic Acid (B9)||250ug||100ug|
Frequently Asked Questions
The key difference between Raisin Bran and Sultana Bran cereal is how the grapes are dried to produce the sultanas and raisins. While raisins are dried naturally, sultanas are dipped in a solution and dried using hydrators.
At 68g per 100g, Sultana Bran is not high in carbs compared to Cornflakes which comes out at 84g. However, the sugar content is extremely high at 30g per 100g compared to 8g for cornflakes. If you are looking for a low carb vegan cereal, try Lizi’s Low Sugar Granola or Catalina Crunch Cereal.