Fiona is the editor of Plantpuree. With over two decades of experience in the wellness and fashion sectors, plus a degree in philosophy, she brings a unique perspective to her editorial role at Plantpuree. Whether it’s discussing ethical issues around veganism or pushing for eco-friendly fashion choices, her thoughtful and analytical approach ensures that readers are empowered with accessible, reliable information and knowledge they can trust. She delights in unearthing exciting facts and figures that surprise even the most seasoned experts!
Estimated reading time: 3 minutes
Cheerios Oat Crunch is a deliciously sweet cereal that kids and adults love. At first glance, the ingredients in Cheerios Oat Crunch appear to be vegan. Oats are a plant – right? So what’s the problem? Are Cheerios Oat Crunch vegan or not? Let’s take a closer look at this popular cereal to find out.
Disclosure: Some of the links below are affiliated; we may earn a small commission if you click through and make a purchase. We only ever add brands & products we truly believe in. Thank you for supporting the brands who are making the world a better place!
Table of Contents
Are Cheerios Oat Crunch Vegan?
The answer is NO, Cheerios Oat Crunch is not a vegan cereal. This is because they include animal-derived components such as lanolin and bone char within their ingredients. For healthy vegan cereal options try Barbara’s Original Morning Oat Crunch or Cascadian Farm Purely O’s Cereal.
Cheerios Oat Crunch Ingredients
Cheerios Oat Crunch Calories per 54g Serving: 230kcal (1)
|MAIN INGREDIENTS||VITAMINS AND MINERALS|
|Whole Grain Oats, Sugar,|
Whole Grain Corn,
Modified Corn Starch,
Canola And/Or Sunflower Oil,
Corn Starch, Honey,
Whole Grain Rice,
Whole Grain Sorghum,
Whole Grain Millet, Salt,
Cinnamon, Tripotassium Phosphate,
Color (Caramel Color, Annatto Extract),
Vitamin E (Mixed Tocopherols) T
|Calcium Carbonate, Iron And Zinc |
Niacinamide, Vitamin C,
Vitamin B1, Vitamin B6,
Vitamin B2, Vitamin B12,
Vitamin A , Folic Acid,
Non-Vegan Ingredients In Cheerios Oat Crunch
There are two non-vegan ingredients in Cheerios Oat Crunch: Vitamin D and refined sugar.
Vitamin D3 is important for bone health. It can be found in fortified foods or supplements, and it can also be produced by the body when exposed to sunlight. Vitamin D is commercially made from lanolin. Lanolin is a waxy substance derived from sheep’s wool. Given vitamin D is derived from an animal source, this means that breakfast cereals fortified with this are not vegan, however, they are suitable for vegetarians. (2)
The problem with sugar is not the actual ingredient itself, but the way it is processed. Sugar cane is processed using bone char, which is made from animal bones that are heated at high temperatures. Bone char is used to filter and whiten sugar. Even though sugar doesn’t have any bone fragments in it, the number of animals used to produce bone char is a big issue. (3)
Frequently Asked Questions
The Canadian Celiac Association recommends those with gluten sensitivities avoid Cheerios, even though General Mills labels the cereal as gluten-free. The danger of cross-contamination during processing is too high. (4)
Cheerios are low in fat and calories, as well as vitamins and minerals. However, they do have high sugar levels in some varieties. Nutritional experts recommend the Multigrain option, which contains more protein. (5)